Planet Suffolk: Bringing together the Suffolks of the world

Suffolk Point, East Thurlow Island, Strathcona Regional District, British Columbia, Canada

Suffolk Point is a headland on the south coast of East Thurlow Island located at 50° 21’ N 125° 26’ W. East Thurlow Island is part of the Discovery Islands; a group between Vancouver Island and the mainland.  It is approximately 130 miles north of the city of Vancouver.

Population:  Suffolk Point is uninhabited.  The small community of Shoal Bay is located in the north of the island.

How to get there:-

Travel to the Discovery Islands is via the city of Campbell River on Vancouver Island.  Ferry services are available to the nearby Quadra & Cortes Islands. From there, East Thurlow Island is only accessible by private boat.

There is a regional airport at Campbell River, with connecting flights from Vancouver International Airport .

Time Zone:  Pacific Standard Time (GMT -8 hrs).  Daylight saving time in summer + 1 hr.


Order of contents on this page: (Click on the links below)

Early History & Derivation of Name

The Discovery Islands & Strathcona Regional District



Early History & Derivation of Name

Thurlow Island was named by George Vancouver on 16th July 1792 when he was surveying the southwest coast of British Columbia.  At the time he missed the narrow channel, known today as Blind Channel, separating East Thurlow Island from West Thurlow Island, hence he believed there to be only one island.  He named this after Edward Thurlow (1731-1806), the Lord Chancellor of Britain from 1778 to 1792.  Although Edward Thurlow was born at Bacon Ash, Norfolk, the family was closely associated with the village of Thurlow in Suffolk, and when he was raised to the peerage in 1778 he took the title of Baron Thurlow, of Thurlow in Suffolk.  Suffolk Point was so named at the same time as the island in relation to the Lord Chancellors title.

Top of Page

The Discovery Islands & Strathcona Regional District

The Discovery Islands comprise Quadra Island, Cortes Island, East & West Thurlow Islands, Read Island, Maurelle Island, Sonora Island, Stuart Island, East & West Redonda Islands, Hernando Island, the Twin Islands & the Rendezvous Islands. They are also sometimes known as the Northern Gulf Islands. All are located within the Strathcona Regional District, apart from a few of the southernmost ones which fall within the Powell River Regional District. They are located between Vancouver Island & the British Columbia mainland, within Discovery Passage, which begins where the Strait of Georgia narrows between Quadra Island and Vancouver Island, & continues northwards until it widens into the Johnstone Strait.

The two main islands of the group, which have regular ferry services with Campbell River, are Quadra Island & Cortes Island; both of which have thriving tourist industries. To the east, on the mainland, the fjord-like Bute Inlet & Toba Inlet stretch up to 50 miles into the rugged, snow capped Coast Range Mountains. The region is home to bears, wolves, pumas, elk & eagles, whilst whales, porpoise, dolphins, seals & sea lions can be found in the surrounding waters. The Discovery Islands are a prime tourist location with many sandy beaches. Hiking, fishing, boating, diving & wildlife watching are all major attractions of the region.

The Strathcona Regional District of British Columbia was created in February 2008 & encompasses the north & west of the former Regional District of Comox-Strathcona. The population is around 43,000, with the administrative seat being at Campbell River. The region covers 7,077 square miles, which is split between Vancouver Island & the British Columbian mainland. To the north, the Regional District of Mount Waddington joins Strathcona on both the mainland & Vancouver Island. The Alberni-Clayoquot & Comox Valley Regional Districts make up the southern boundary on Vancouver Island, with the Cariboo & Powell River Regional Districts making up the eastern & southern borders respectively on the mainland.

Have you signed the Guestbook yet?

Top of Page